top of page

Kalbi love


We did a little staycation at Turtle Bay Resort for my boyfriend's birthday. It was beautiful. Plumeria, gardenia and all sorts of flowers were in bloom with full of sweet island fragrance. Rex was sniffing the flowers too and enjoying his vacation too.

I just love North Shore. I can't imagine myself living there ever but it is a nice place to go visit to get away. It's so country, so laid-back, and people seem to be so mellow, nice and friendly. Of course we did Giovanni's garlic shrimp as usual. But the other place that has a special place in my heart is Haleiwa Joe's.

I went for a magazine photo shoot at Haleiwa Joe's long time ago. It was a interview and photo shoot with Nalani from Na Leo and she lives in Haleiwa. She told me the kalbi at Haleiwa Joe's is the best kept secret. Haleiwa Joe's is supposed to be a "seafood" grill but they have the best kalbi. So I bought some and brought it home and gave some to Pepe. He loved it like he has never ate anything better. He was chewing the bones all night and wouldn't let go. So every time I get a chance, I bought this kalbi and gave some to him. As a matter of fact, we needed Pepe to model for one of the TV commercial he was featured in (it was for KBFD commercial) and he got this kalbi as a reward. Well, even for humans, this kalbi is out of the world.

So me and my boyfriend went to Haleiwa Joe's for dinner on our last night in North Shore. I am so glad we went there. We had Rex with us but the restaurant was so welcoming of Rex... we were able to let him out and the group of people next to us were so in love with Rex and we were just having a great puppy/doggie talk... just love them dog lovers! So funny how little chi brings us altogether. Bartender brought Rex some water and Rex had some kalbi. Of course he loved it too. and wouldn't let go of bone... just like Pepe didn't let go of the bone.

I felt Pepe's energy in the air that night at Haleiwa Joe's. I really felt his presence. And I think he was jealous of that kalbi! lol We ate some kalbi for Pepe in his memory and it just felt good. Me and my boyfriend were actually having arguments before we left but it actually ended up being a great night because of Pepe. See how he always helps us to stop even when he is no longer here. And I realized that was the last day of "mercury retrograde".

I don't have the picture of Pepe eating Kalbi. I know I have it somewhere but this is the closest pic that I have of him. This is his chew but he was chewing on that bone like this. He was so cute. I wish I could give it to him too. But Rex surely enjoyed it for you, Pepe. Sorry! But I know you were there that night. I felt like you were on my lap.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page