top of page

49 days


So today marks its 49th day since his passing. In Japan we do memorial service after certain days of the death. 7th, 49th, 100th day... we say we are supposed to mourn at least for 49 days, and then for human ashes, we usually put the ashes into the coffin and have a ceremony called nokotsu on that day.

Well, I won't be doing nokotsu for Pepe because his ashes are so small and I'd rather have the ashes by my side. And since its such a tiny bit, I just want the ashes to go together in the same grave with me when I die. Until then, his ashes will be with me.

Now that 49 day is over, is Pepe ready to be reborn into this world again in some other disguise? Is he ready to come back to me? Is he getting ready???

I really need a dog in my life. I can't say that enough. I am not going to give up until I find a similar dog like Pepe though. All dogs are wonderful but I think your first dog is a very special dog in your life that never leaves you.

According to the Japanese buddhism calender, I am supposed to be done with majority of mourning. I will never forget you though and forgetting you is just impossible. But I will try hard to be stronger without you in my presence. Because you gave me that confidence to stay strong, because you never leave me, because you are always in my heart.

Enough mourning. I need to move on.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page