top of page

Happy Valentine's day Pepe!


Happy Valentine's day... a day to celebrate love. Since I am all by myself without my boyfriend and Pepe, I decided to do all the things I want to do to pamper myself today. True love starts from within! So I opened his urn, grabbed his ashes and took off to a trail called Makapuu Trail. I was originally thinking about going to Diamondhead because Pepe loved it so much. But today being Valentine's day or just being Sunday, the parking lot was full and I couldn't go inside. So I took off to Hawaii Kai side for this beautiful trail which is the one I wanted to go on my birthday. Since I didn't get to go to any trail because Pepe was sick, it was great that I got to do this today.

I put his can of ashes in my bagpack and just kept on going. I saw wild whales jumping in and out of the ocean. It was just a gorgeous day with some nice breeze. I enjoy working out these days and enjoy going on different trails. But recent years, Pepe would pant so much under the heat so I couldn't really bring him to these hot places. I knew he didn't actually enjoy going to the ocean either, so today it was great for both of us because he got to sit in my bagpack and I did not have to worry about him with all that much direct sun.

It was so bizarre. I was listening to music on my iphone and just hit random play. When I got to the top of it, the song " I'll be missing you' by Puff Daddy & Faith Evans came on. This is a song that kept playing on my boyfriend's radio in his car after he passed away. He let me listen to it and I cried. That song came on at such a perfect timing and I thought it was another sign that Pepe was sending me saying, "thank you mama. it's beautiful here. "

I made sure today was a day to be good to myself. I didn't go out to eat fancy dinner or lunch or didn't see any of my friends, but I was just fine being alone with Pepe in my heart. I took him to see Diamond head during sunset since I didn't get to take him to the real Diamondhead today. Just as I sat down on his favorite bench (or his spot) my phone rang and it was my boyfriend.

I looked up and saw clouds forming like this dog (side face) was kissing another person. I'd like to think he had a good day today. Even though we are physically not together, I hope he enjoyed hanging out with me today.

This is only last year when we gave him cookies from Petco and made him a heart shaped steak dinner.

It's hard because unlike other dogs, he didn't show me much physical sign of getting weaker. I mean his legs were giving out and he was sleeping a lot recently. But he was cute and looked like a puppy til the day he died. But I think he really meant to keep it that way, for my memory of Pepe to be as cute as he is forever.

Even though my boyfriend is having a great time eating in and out burger and yummy mexican food in California, I think I had a decent Valentine's day all by myself. Pepe is still with me in my heart and in my memory.

Happy Valentine's day Pepe! You are truly the love of my life!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page